NBL Blitz tournament dates announced

Territory basketball fans will enjoy a week of world-class National Basketball League (NBL) action when the 2022 NBL pre-season Blitz begins in Darwin on Friday, 16 September.

The South East Melbourne Phoenix will battle the Adelaide 36ers on opening night at 7.30pm, beginning a stretch of 15 games to be played at the Darwin Basketball Stadium until 23 September.

As part of the eight-day event, there will also be a 3×3 Pro Hustle tournament during the day at Darwin Waterfront on 17 and 18 September.

NBL Commissioner Jeremy Loeliger said this year’s Blitz will be a must-watch event with several new and exciting changes.

“We are looking forward to all the action and know our players, coaches and staff will get an amazing experience in Darwin,” he said.

In a major sporting first for the Top End, the pre-season tournament is famous for showcasing the skills of future stars of the sport, as well as the biggest stars in Australian basketball, in preparation for the regular season ahead on 1 October.

Fans will have the chance to see all 10 NBL teams in action, including Bullets’ superstar Aron Baynes and a revamped Adelaide with Antonius Cleveland and Robert Franks out to flex their muscles. There are new coaches at the helm for New Zealand, Illawarra and Perth, and at Melbourne United, Dean Vickerman will be trying to cover the loss of several key players.

The much loved Blitz returns in its original format after two years of COVID disruptions, and across the country, basketball faithfuls will be able to tune in on Kayo Freebies.

The winning team will be awarded the Loggins-Bruton Cup, while the tournament’s most outstanding player will take home the Ray Borner Medal.

Following the opening clash on 16 September, doubleheader games are scheduled each day with the first game at 5pm and the second at 7.30pm.

Tickets will be available on 19 August. For more details about the 2022 NBL Blitz, visit www.nblblitz.com.au.